Latest News

    Week Long Cricket Tournament (Boys) Concluded at GDC Doda

    Week Long Cricket Tournament (Boys) Concluded at GDC Doda

    Date: 11/04/2022

    Department of Physical Education and Sports under the Patronage of Principal Govt. Degree College Doda, Dr. Attar Singh Kotwal and in tandem with Sports Committee of the College has organized Intramural Cricket Competition. The chief organizer of the event was Dr. Arjun Singh (HOD) DPE&S. The final event of the tournament was flagged off by Prof. Babu Ram, vice Principal of the Collegeand Prof. K.K.Manhas, HOD Education. Throughout the tournamenta total 16 number of teams in which more than 200 students participated in thisknock out tournament. The final match wasplayed between Viv Richards 11 V/S Ab de Villiers 11. The toss was won by Viv Richards 11 and decided to ball first. Ab de Villiers while batting first has given a huge target of 152 runs for the loss of two wickets in 10 overs. Umer Bilal was wreck in chief who scored 74 runs including six sixes in a single over. Umer Shafi and Mujeeb Ur-Rehman also contributed 38 and 16 runs respectively. While chasing the target Viv Richards 11 were bundled out at a meager score of 79 runs in ten overs. Ravi, Hajid and Sunny were the tops scorer of their team.

    In the Post match presentation, Man of the Match and Man of the tournament were given to Umer Bilal and Ather Khurshed respectively. The medals werealso distributed among the players of the winning teamand the final trophy of the tournament has given to the winning Captain Mujeeb Ur Rehman Wani. While interacting with the team members,Convenor Sports Committee Prof. Manjeet Singh congratulated both the teams for displaying the spirit of Sportsmanship and the chief organizer Dr.Arjun Singh for accomplishing this herculean task sagaciously.Dr. Jag Mohan Sharma and Prof. Kazim, members of the Sports Committee and some students of Semester2nd&5th namelyPawan Kotwal, Vishal, Mujeeb, Sarthak, Athar, Isharat Fayaz and Umar were the part to organize this grand event. Jaswant Singh, Ghulam Haider and Mohd Farooq non-teaching staff members of the college were also facilitated on this grand occasion for their immense contribution regarding the maintenance of ground and for other necessary arrangements.Others who were present during the match and graced the occasion were Dr.Akhter Hussain, Dr Ravinder Rana, Dr Aslam Rather, Dr Imtiyaz Ahmed Zargar, Prof Zain Ul Abideen Bandey , Prof Zain Batt, Dr Anayatullaha Wani, Prof Amit Kumar, Dr Tasir Sharief.